Common Mexican Acronyms

Johan Klok | Last update:

CDMX: Ciudad de México (México City). One of Mexico's 32 federal entitities. In the past, it was known as DF (Distrito Federal).

CFE: Comisión Federal de Electricidad (Federal Commision of Electricity). The CFE is Mexico's only power company.

CURP: Clave Única de Registro de Población. The CURP is what in many countries the social security number is. You will need it for governmental procedures, healthcare, education, etc.

FMM: Forma Migratoria Múltiple. This is a system to keep track of migratory movements of people who don't have a Mexican passport.

IMSS: Instituto Mexicano del Seguro Social. Mexico's social security institute.

INAPAM: Instituto Nacional de las Personas Adultas Mayores. Senior citizen agency (including issuing discount cards).

INM: Instituto Nacional de Migración (National Institute of Migration). Mexican's migration agency.

IVA: Impuesto al Valor Agregado. Value added tax or sales tax (currently 16%).

MXN: Mexican peso. The MXN is the official currency of México.

NUE: Número Único de Extranjero (Unique Foreigner Number). All foreigners with a resident visa get a NUE.

NUT: Número Único de Trámite (Unique Processing Number). Each federal procedure gets a NUT.

PROFECO: Procuraduría Federal del Consumidor. Consumer protection agency.

RFC: Registro Federal de Contribuyentes. Federal tax ID.

SAT: Servicio de Administración Tributaria. Federal tax agency.

SEGOB: Secretaría de Gobernación. Ministry of the Interior.

TIP: Temporary Import Permit. A TIP is most Mexican states required to temporarily import a foreign-plated vehicle or motorcycle.